Team Mzansi: List of South African Athletes Competing in the Tokyo Olympics

Team Mzansi: List of South African Athletes Competing in the Tokyo Olympics

The Tokyo Olympics are finally underway and there are a number of South African participants. Briefly compiled a list of the Olympic squad that will be competing in different events in the Games.

PAY ATTENTION: Click “See First” under the “Following” tab to see News on your News Feed!

The South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) has finalised its roster for the rescheduled Tokyo Olympics, which will take place this month. From 23 July to 8 August, the Tokyo Olympics will be held in a bio-secure bubble.

South Africa will compete in 17 of the 33 Olympic events available this year, including the newly introduced disciplines of skateboarding and sport climbing.

South Africa will send a squad of 185 athletes to the Olympics, making it the country's highest delegation ever, surpassing Rio's 137 participants.

Team South Africa, Tokyo Olympics, list of participants
Briefly News compiled a list of athletes who will be competing at the Tokyo Olympics. Image: @team_mzansi
Source: Instagram

PAY ATTENTION: Never miss breaking news – join Briefly News' Telegram channel

Read also

SA U/23 squad in trouble after 5 players withdraw from squad ahead of Olympics

Here is a list of the full squad for the Tokyo Olympics taking place in Japan:


Men: Akani Simbine, Clarence Munyai, Antonio Alkana, Cheswill Johnson, Ruswahl Samaai, Rocco van Rooyen, Jason van Rooyen, Stephen Mokoka, Desmond Mokgobu, Elroy Gelant, Wayne Snyman, Kyle Blignaut, Marc Mundell, Wayde van Niekerk, Gift Leotlela, Anaso Jobodwana, Thapelo Phora, Sokwakhana Zazini, Lebogang Shange, Shaun Maswanganyi, Galaletsang Ramorwa, Chederick van Wyk, Pieter Conradie, Ranto Dikgale, Oscar Mavundla, Derrick Mokaleng, Zakhiti Nene, Lythe Pillay, Precious Mashele

Women: Wenda Nel, Dominique Scott, Gerda Steyn, Irvette van Zyl, Jo-Ane van Dyk


Diving and open water swimming

Men: Michael Mcglynn

Women: Michelle Weber, Julia Vincent and Micaela Bouter


Men: Ethan du Preez, Chad le Clos, Pieter Coetze, Bradley Tandy, Michael Houlie, Matthew Sates, Martin Binedell

Women: Tatjana Schoenmaker, Kaylene Corbett, Emma Chelius, Erin Gallagher, Rebecca Meder, Dune Coetzee, Mariella Venter, Aimee Canny

Rugby Sevens

Read also

Blade Nzimande age, wife, qualifications, contacts, speech

Kurt-Lee Arendse, Angelo Davids, Zain Davids, Selvyn Davids, Chris Dry, Branco du Preez, Ronald Brown, Stedman Gans, Justin Geduld, Sakoyisa Makata, JC Pretorius, Siviwe Soyizwapi (captain), Impi Visser

Football men

Ronwen Williams, Mondli Mpoto, Sifiso Mlungwana, Tercious Malepe, Luke Fleurs, Sibusiso Mabiliso, Thabiso Monyane, Katlego Mohamme, Teboho Mokoena, Thabo Cele, Nkosingiphile Ngcobo, Goodman Mosele, Kamohelo Mahlatsi, Luther Singh, Evidence Makgopa, Kobamelo Kodisang


Johan Spies, Charlene Du Preez, David Maree, Ryan Gibbons, Nicholas Dlamini, Ashleigh Pasio-Moolman, Carla Oberholzer, Alan Hatherly, Candice Lill, Alex Limberg, Stefan De Bod

Field hockey

Women: Quanita Bobbs, Erin Christie, Lisa Deetlefs, Lilian Du Plessis, Nicole Erasmus, Tarryn Glasby, Robyn Johnson, Charne Maddocks, Lerato Mahole, Phumelela Mbande, Edith Molikoe, Kristen Paton, Tarryn Potts, Celia Seerane, Nomnikelo Veto, Onthatile Zulu

Men: Erasmus Pieterse, Timothy Drummond, Austin Smith, Mohamed Mea, Matthew GuiseBrown, Jethro Eustice, Nduduzo Lembethe, Taine Paton, Nicholas Spooner, Clinton Panther, Samkelo Mvimbi, Abdul Cassiem, Mustapha Cassiem, Nqobile Ntuli, Keenan Horne, Tevin Kok

Read also

Everything you need to know about Zama Khumalo, the Idols 2020 winner


Henri Schoeman, Richard Murray, Gillian Sanders, Simone Ackermann


Women: Amica Hallenndorff, Shakira January, Meghan Maartens, Chloe Meecham, Georgie Moir, Boati Motau, Hannah Muller, Daniela Passoni, Megan Sileno, Ashleigh Vaughn, Jordan Wedderburn, Kelsey White. Reserve: Yanah Gerber

Men: Ignardus Badenhorst, Devon Card, Jason Evezard, Cameron Laurenson, Lwazi Madi, Farouk Mayman, Yaseen Margro, Liam Neill, Roarke Olver, Nicholas Rodda, Donn Stewart, Ross Stone, Gareth May


Erin Sterkenburg, Chris Cosser


Garrick Higgo, Christiaan Bezuidenhout, Ashleigh Buhai


Caitlin Rooskrantz, Naveen Daries

Nathi Mthethwa says there's no pressure on Team South Africa

Briefly News previously reported that Nathi Mthethwa, the Sports Minister, stressed that Team SA's participation in the Tokyo Olympics is not under any pressure. The Tokyo Olympics will officially begin on Friday and conclude on 8 August.

At the 2016 Rio Olympics, then-Minister of Sports and Recreation Fikile Mbalula set a 10-medal goal for the squad, which they met.

Read also

A detailed list of SAMA awards 2020 nominees

Mthethwa, who was unable to travel to Japan because of the ongoing virus, sent his best wishes to the athletes on Thursday at the South African embassy residence in Tokyo in a 'Welcoming Team SA to Japan' ceremony.

Enjoyed reading our story? Download BRIEFLY's news app on Google Play now and stay up-to-date with major South African news!


Online view pixel