Champions League spots confirmed for English Premier League top four clubs

Champions League spots confirmed for English Premier League top four clubs

- Uefa clarified that five teams will qualify from the Premiership should Liverpool win Champions League

- The Reds are third on the Premier League table with 72 points having played an extra game

- Chelsea and Totenham who closely trail Liverpool will be relieved at the news

- Liverpool play Real Madrid in the final of this year's Uefa Champions League in Kiev

PAY ATTENTION: Click "See First" under the "Following" tab to see Briefly news on your News Feed!

European club football’s administrative body Uefa have confirmed that the top four teams in the English Premier League table at the end of the season will qualify for next season’s Champions League.

Manchester City, Manchester United, Liverpool and Tottenham Hotspur are the top four teams on the log, with Chelsea two points behind Spurs at fifth position.

READ ALSO: Champions vs champions: Ticket prices for Sundowns vs Barcelona clash announced

UEFA, through a statement seen by, clarified that winners of the competition will qualify automatically for the next edition of the League as well as the top four clubs.

In the statement Uefa stated: "The Champions League titleholder is guaranteed a place in the group stage, even if it does not qualify for the competition through its domestic championship.

"This allocation does not affect the ones of its national association. In that particular case with Liverpool, as the Champions League titleholder, not qualified to the competition through its domestic championship, the association may be represented by five clubs in the competition.

"Those are UCL titleholder, top domestic competition's winner, runner-up, third and fourth-placed clubs."

In 2012, Chelsea won the championship for the first time, but finished sixth in the league, resulting in fourth-placed Tottenham missing out on Champions League entry for the following season.

The competition originally started in 1955 and witnessed Real Madrid win the very first edition after beating Stade de Reims 4-3 in the final at the Parc Des Princes.

Los Blancos are the most successful club in the competition with 12 European titles, winning back-to-back titles in the last two successive years.

They are through to the final of this year’s edition as they will face Premier League side, Liverpool in Kiev on Saturday, May 26.

AC Milan are the next best successful side with seven titles, while Bayern Munich, Barcelona and Liverpool have five titles each.

Ajax Amsterdam have won the tournament four times, while Manchester United and Inter Milan have three apiece.

READ ALSO: PSL final round fixtures: What's at stake for who?

Do you have a story to share with Briefly? Visit our Facebook page where you can send us a message or leave us a comment. Your story could be shared online.

To stay up to date with the latest news, download our news app on iTunes or GooglePlay today.


Mailfire view pixel