Percy Tau and Mamelodi Sundowns the big winners at 2017/18 PSL Awards

Percy Tau and Mamelodi Sundowns the big winners at 2017/18 PSL Awards

- Percy Tau scooped three individual awards at the 2017/18 PSL Awards on Tuesday evening

- Tau was named the Footballer of the Season, Players' Player of the Season and joint top goalscorer of the season

- Mamelodi Sundowns coach Pitso Mosimane won the Coach of the Season award

PAY ATTENTION: Click "See First" under the "Following" tab to see Briefly news on your News Feed!

Mamelodi Sundowns striker Percy Tau was the big winner at the 2017/18 Premier Soccer League (PSL) Awards ceremony on Tuesday evening. Tau scooped three individual awards at the glittering event.

He was named the Footballer of the Season, Players’ Player of the Season and was also the joint winner of the golden boot with Polokwane City striker Rodney Ramagalela.

READ ALSO: Ramaphosa, de Lille and policy uncertainty cause DA support to collapse

Mamelodi Sundowns head coach Pitso Mosimane was named as the Coach of the Season in the ABSA PSL division. Mosimane’s win didn’t really come as a huge surprise and is seen by many as a reward for the success he brought to the team. gathered that Tau will be banking cheques worth about R450, 000 this morning after winning both of the main individual awards.

He won R250 000 for the Footballer of the Season Award and another R200, 000 for his Player’s Player Award. He and Ramagalela also won R25 000 for scoring the most goals. reported that Maritzburg United might not have won any silverware, but the team scooped up three awards at the ceremony. Lebogang Maboe was named Player of the Tournament and Most Promising Player and Siphesihle Ndlovu won the midfielder of the year award.

The winners in each category were as follows:

Goalkeeper of the Season: Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs)

Defender of the Season: Siyanda Xulu (Maritzburg United)

Midfielder of the Season: Siphesihle Ndlovu (Maritzburg United)

Young Player of Season: Siphesihle Ndlovu (Maritzburg United)

Goal of the Season: Siphelele Magubane (Lamontville Golden Arrows)

Absa Premiership Top Scorers: Percy Tau (Mamelodi Sundowns) and Rodney Ramagalela (Polokwane City)

Absa Premiership Coach of the Season: Pitso Mosimane (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Player’s Player of the Season: Percy Tau (Mamelodi Sundowns).

Footballer of the Season: Percy Tau (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Assistant Referee of the Season: Zakhele Siwela

Referee of the Season: Victor Gomes

MultiChoice Diski Shield Player of the Tournament: Itumeleng Shopane (Kaizer Chiefs)

Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament: Lebogang Maboe (Maritzburg United)

MTN8 Last Man Standing: Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United)

National First Division Top Goalscorers: Mwape Musonda (Black Leopards) and Peter Shalulile (Highlands Park)

Telkom Knockout Player of the Tournament: Amr Gamal (Bidvest Wits)

MultiChoice Diski Challenge Most Precious Find: Siboniso Conco (Golden Arrows)

We have rounded up some social media reactions to the awards and in particular to Mamelodi Sundowns winning.

READ ALSO: Former Police Minister Fikile Mbalula bails on eNCA's #AsItHappens

For more amazing, funny and informative videos, please visit Briefly South Africa's YouTube Channel.

Do you think Sundowns deserved their success? Visit our Facebook page where you can send us a message or leave us a comment. Your story could be shared online.

To stay up to date with the latest news, download our news app on iTunes or GooglePlay today.


Mailfire view pixel