Who are the ANC’s newly elected Gauteng top five leaders?

Who are the ANC’s newly elected Gauteng top five leaders?

- More than 1244 ANC delegates have elected new leadership to lead the Gauteng province into the crucial 2019 election

- Gauteng Premier David Makhura was elected as chairperson, he will be supported by Panyaza Lesufi, Jacob Khawe, Parks Tau and Nomantu Nkomo-Ralehoko

- The ANC Women’s League lashed out at the lack of 50/50 representation and noted that only one female candidate was elected to the leadership

PAY ATTENTION: Click "See First" under the "Following" tab to see Briefly news on your News Feed!

Delegates attending the African National Congress’ (ANC) Gauteng Provincial Conference have elected new leadership to take the province into the crucial 2019 general election. More than 1244 delegates cast their votes for the provincial top five over the weekend.

The new leadership will be tasked with retaining the Gauteng province ahead of a strong challenge from the Democratic Alliance (DA) and will also be expected to win back control of the Johannesburg and Tshwane metros.

READ ALSO: Home Affairs director general Mkuseli Apleni resigns after nearly a decade in office

Briefly.co.za takes a closer look at the top five leaders of the ANC in the Gauteng, who they are and what they have achieved.

Provincial Chairperson – David Makhura

Makhura is the current premier of the Gauteng Province, a position he has held since 2014. He is seen as being pro-Ramaphosa and was vocal in his support for President Cyril Ramaphosa in the lead-up to the ANC’s national elective conference. Makhura is well-liked by even opposition politicians with the DA’s Tshwane mayor Solly Msimanga having said he and Makhura had a fantastic working relationship.

Deputy Chairperson - Panyaza Lesufi

Lesufi currently serves as the Gauteng Education MEC a position which he has held since June 2014. He grew up in the province and has a deep knowledge of the challenges facing the people of Gauteng. Lesufi has served in several different positions both in the provincial and national government, these include special advisor to the department of education and roles in the police ministry.

Provincial Secretary – Jacob Khawe

Khawe was elected in large part thanks to having the backing of the ANC Youth League. Khawe was inaugurated as the mayor of the Emfuleni municipality in November 2017 after the previous mayor resigned due to a series of scandals.

Deputy Provincial Secretary – Nomantu Nkomo-Ralehoko

Nkomo-Ralehoko is the only woman elected to serve in a senior leadership role of the Gauteng province. She is the chairperson of committees for the Gauteng provincial legislature.

Treasurer – Parks Tau

Tau is the former mayor of the City of Johannesburg. He lost the council to the DA’s Herman Mashaba in the last local and provincial elections in 2016. Tau has served in various high-ranking Gauteng ANC provincial positions throughout his career and has vast experience in the public sector.

The ANC Women’s League has according to SowetanLive.co.za slammed the Gauteng conference for failing to elect more women to serve in top leadership positions and said it was disappointing that even in 2018 a mentality of male dominance existed within the ANC.

The ANCWL said it would continue to lobby for a 50/50 representation of leaders within all structure of the ruling party.

READ ALSO: Eastern Cape municipality near total collapse but manager spends R90k on KFC

For more amazing, funny and informative videos, please visit Briefly South Africa's YouTube Channel.

Do you have a story to share with Briefly? Visit our Facebook page where you can send us a message or leave us a comment. Your story could be shared online.

To stay up to date with the latest news, download our news app on iTunes or GooglePlay today.

Source: Briefly.co.za

Mailfire view pixel