UEFA Nations League explained in detail

UEFA Nations League explained in detail

The inaugural UEFA Nations League commenced on Thursday, September 6, and the new competition presents European countries with the chance of landing a spot at the Euro 2020.

PAY ATTENTION: Click "See first" under the "Following" tab to see Briefly News on your newsfeed!

The tournament will start in style as current World Cup winners France will face 2014 World champions Germany on the opening day.

READ ALSO: Social Development minister spends R116,000 on knives and forks for office

PAY ATTENTION: Save mobile data with FreeBasics: Briefly is now available on the app

According to Sky, four Euro 2020 spots will be up for grabs via play-offs in the tournament that will witness Europes finest square it out for ultimate glory.

The tournament resurfaced in a bid to revamp the level of international football and reduce irrelevant friendlies, Briefly.co.za learned.

It is understood that plans have been underway since 2011, to introduce the tournament with UEFA only waiting for the perfect opportunity to roll it out.

UEFA Nations League explained in detail

Paul Pogba of France, Presnel Kimpembe controls the ball during training before the International Friendly football match between Germany and France at Allianz Arena.

READ ALSO: Twitter drags Ramaphosa after he sold his cattle for R19.5m

Countries are divided into four leagues (A,B,C,D) in relation to their FIFA ranking as of the end of the 2018 World Cup Qualifiers.

The 55 teams will then be split into groups made of four or three teams.

Four teams from every league will be promoted while another four teams will be relegated.

The Final Four is slated for June 2019, with winners from the four groups from league A, coming up against each other.

UEFA Nations League explained in detail

Toni Kroos, Jerome Boateng, Matthias Ginter of Germany and Nils Petersen of Germany controls the ball during a team Germany training session at Bayern Muenchen Campus on September 5, 2018.

The teams will play one-game semi-final prior to the final with the winner being crowned UEFA Nations League Champion.

The Final Four tournament will only be held in odd years, so as to avoid any clash or conflict on the football calendar especially with regards to the World Cup and European Championships.

The newly promoted teams will then play at the new level in the next competition which starts in 2020.

On Friday, September 7, Italy tackle Poland and thereafter England will take on 2010 World Cup winners Spain Saturday, September 8, when Northern Ireland face Bosnia and Herzegovina.

Watch Mzansi's billionaires in the video below from our Briefly - South Africa YouTube channel.

Do you have a story to share with us? Inbox us on our Facebook page and we could feature your story.

To stay up to date with the latest news, download our news app on Google Play or iTunes today.

Source: Tuko.co.ke

Source: Briefly.co.za

Mailfire view pixel