Susan Shabangu quits MP post - the4th former minister to do so

Susan Shabangu quits MP post - the4th former minister to do so

- Former minister Susan Shabangu has resigned from Parliament

- She joins former ministers Jeff Radebe and NomaIndia Mfeketo in doing so

- This comes after Cyril Ramaphosa opted not to reappoint Shabangu to his Cabinet

PAY ATTENTION: Click “See First” under the “Following” tab to see News on your News Feed!

Former Minister of Social Development Susan Shabangu has announced her resignation from Parliament.

She is the fourth former minister to resign as an ANC MP.

Her announcement comes after the resignation of former ministers NomaIndia Mfeketo and Dipuo Letsatsi-Duba.

PAY ATTENTION: Do you want to know what's trending on Join our WhatsApp group today.

Shabangu previously served as Minister of Mineral Resources and later Minister for Women under former president Jacob Zuma.

When Cyril Ramaphosa first assumed the presidency in early 2018, he appointed Shabangu as Minister of Social Development. However, he did not appoint her to his new Cabinet following the 2019 elections.

Shabangu is one of 14 ministers who were not re-appointed.

Shabangu's resignation makes her the fourth former minister to resign from Parliament, according to IOL. Former minister Jeff Radebe resigned a week agoand NomaIndia Mfeketo confirmed her resignation on Wednesday.

In her resignation, Mfeketo explained that if she stayed on as an MP she would lose her minister's pension. This may have been a factor in the other former ministers' decision to resign as well.

READ ALSO: Northern Cape premier says no to new Mercs, buys 63 ambulances

Additionally, Mfeketo said she was happy to move on from politics and "enjoy life as an ordinary person". She also said she was happy to step aside to make way for the youth to take up a place in Parliament, has gathered.

Enjoyed reading our story? Download BRIEFLY's news app on Google Play now and stay up-to-date with major South African news!


Online view pixel