AFCON 2019: Complete day-by-day guide for the continental tournament

AFCON 2019: Complete day-by-day guide for the continental tournament

The 32nd edition of the Africa Cup of Nations is set to officially kickoff on Friday, June 21, in Egypt.

PAY ATTENTION: Click “See First” under the “Following” tab to see Briefly.co.za News on your News Feed!

Hosts The Pharaohs will take on Zimbabwe's The Warriors in the tournament's curtain raiser at the Cairo International Stadium.

The final group stage matches will be played on Friday, July 5, before the second round of the competition starting three days later.

The quarter finals and semis will be played between Wednesday, July 10, and Sunday, July 14, with the finals scheduled for Friday, July 19, at the iconic Cairo International Stadium.

Here is the complete day-by-day guide for the 2019 Afcon (Kick-off times in GMT):

READ ALSO: Eldoret: 'Female' athlete who participated in international marathons turns out to be a man

FIRST ROUND

Friday, June 21

Group A: Egypt v Zimbabwe, Cairo International Stadium

Saturday, June 22

Group A: Democratic Republic of Congo v Uganda, Cairo Stadium

Group B: Nigeria v Burundi 1700hrs, Guinea v Madagascar both Alexandria Stadium

Sunday, June 23

Group D: Morocco v Namibia, Al Salam Stadium, Cairo

Group C: Senegal v Tanzania 1700, Kenya v Algeria both June 30 Stadium, Cairo

Monday, June 24

Group D: South Africa v Ivory Coast, Al Salam Stadium

Group E: Tunisia v Angola 1700, Mauritania v Mali, both Suez Stadium

Tuesday, June 25

Group F: Cameroon v Guinea-Bissau

Ghana v Benin, both Ismailia Stadium

Wednesday, June 26

Group B: Nigeria v Guinea, Alexandria Stadium

Group A: Uganda v Zimbabwe 1700hrs, Egypt v DR Congo 2000, both Cairo Stadium

Thursday, June 27

Group B: Madagascar v Burundi, Alexandria Stadium

Group C: Algeria v Senegal 1700, Kenya v Tanzania both June 30 Stadium

Friday, June 28

Group E: Tunisia v Mali, Suez Stadium;

Group D: Morocco v Ivory Coast, Namibia v South Africa, both Al Salam Stadium

Saturday, June 29

Group E: Mauritania v Angola, Suez Stadium;

Group F: Cameroon v Ghana, Benin v Guinea-Bissau, both Ismailia Stadium

Sunday, June 30

Group B: Madagascar v Nigeria, Alexandria Stadium; Burundi v Guinea, Al Salam Stadium, both.

Group A: Egypt v Uganda, Cairo Stadium; Zimbabwe v DR Congo, June 30 Stadium

Monday, July 1

Group D: South Africa v Morocco, Al Salam Stadium; Namibia v Ivory Coast, June 30 Stadium

Group C: Kenya v Senegal, June 30 Stadium; Tanzania v Algeria, Al Salam Stadium.

Tuesday, July 2

Group F: Benin v Cameroon, Ismailia Stadium; Guinea-Bissau v Ghana, Suez Stadium.

Group E: Mauritania v Tunisia, Suez Stadium; Angola v Mali, Ismailia Stadium.

SECOND ROUND

Friday, July 5

(41) Group D winners v 3rd Group B/E/F, Al Salam Stadium; (38) Group A runners-up v Group C runners-up, Cairo Stadium.

Friday, July 6

(42) Group B runners-up v Group F runners-up, Alexandria Stadium; (39) Group A winners v 3rd Group C/D/E, Cairo Stadium.

Saturday, July 7

(37) Group B winners v 3rd Group A/C/D, Alexandria Stadium 1600; (40) Group C winners v 3rd Group A/B/F, June 30 Stadium 1900

Sunday, July 8

(43) Group E winners v Group D runners-up, Suez Stadium 1600; (44) Group F winners v Group E runners-up, Ismailia Stadium 1900

QUARTER-FINALS

Tuesday, July 10

(45) Winners match 38 v winners 41, June 30 Stadium 1600; (48) Winners 42 v winners 39, Cairo Stadium 1900

Wednesday, July 11

(47) Winners 43 v winners 40, Suez Stadium 1600; (46) Winners 37 v winners 44, Al Salam Stadium 1900

SEMI-FINALS

Saturday, July 14

Winners 45 v winners 46, June 30 Stadium 1600; Winners 47 v winners 48, Cairo Stadium 1900

THIRD PLACE

Tuesday, July 17

Losing semi-finalists, Al Salam Stadium 1900

FINAL

Friday, July 19

Winning semi-finalists, Cairo Stadium 1900

Enjoyed reading our story? Download BRIEFLY's news app on Google Play now and stay up-to-date with major South African news!

Source: Briefly.co.za

Mailfire view pixel