MPs who have exited parliament still rolling in taxpayer money

MPs who have exited parliament still rolling in taxpayer money

- A recent report has revealed that many exiting Members of Parliament (MP) still benefit from taxpayers’ money

- MPs who have left parliament receive millions in outgoing payments

- Additionally, many MPs who did not return to parliament will not be giving up their state-funded homes

PAY ATTENTION: Click “See First” under the “Following” tab to see News on your News Feed!

A report based on information from a senior Member of Parliament (MP), has uncovered that ex-MPs are paid a large sum on their departure from the National Assembly.

The Sunday Times reported that, this year, this amount paid out to exiting MPs added up to R76 million.

This hefty payout is put down as “loss-of-office gratuity payments”.

PAY ATTENTION: Do you want to know what's trending on Join our WhatsApp group today.

As far as a severance package goes, R76 million is a massive outgoing payment.

MPs who did not return for the 6th term of South African parliament this year, and may have benefitted from this procedure, include Nomvula Mokonyane, Bathabile Dlamini and Trevor Manuel.

READ ALSO: Nasty C breaks fashion boundaries - wears crocs and diamond grill

On top of this, discovered that a great deal of former MPs stay in their state-funded homes indefinitely after their exit from parliament, even though they hold no political mandate to do so.

Minister of Public Works and Infrastructure, Patricia de Lille, has been given the difficult job of attempting to stop this from happening.

De Lille will have to try to remove ex-MPs from their palatial taxpayer-funded estates, which will be no easy task.

Enjoyed reading our story? Download BRIEFLY's news app on Google Play now and stay up-to-date with major South African news!


Mailfire view pixel