- Kaizer Chiefs striker Leonardo Castro claims that he didn't touch the ball in the lead up to Samir Nurkovic's opening goal against Mamelodi Sundowns
- Sundowns coach Pitso Mosimane was left fuming as he felt Castro got a touch, which would mean that Nurkovic was in an offside position
- The Safa review team shared a similar view to Castro as they deemed the goal to be legitimate
The match between Kaizer Chiefs and Mamelodi Sundowns on Sunday served up numerous talking points, but the most controversial was linked to the opening goal.
Chiefs striker Samir Nurkovic nodded home from close range following a cross from Reeve Frosler.
The goal enraged Sundowns coach Pitso Mosimane as he felt that Nurkovic was in an offside position and that it should have been disallowed.
Briefly.co.za previously reported that Mosimane landed himself in hot water as he claimed that the goal was another example of referee favouritism towards the Amakhosi.
Mosimane's argument is that Chiefs forward Leonardo Castro touched the ball initially prior to it ending up at Nurkovic.
This would effectively have placed the Serb in an offside position.
However, TimesLIVE reported that Castro has pleaded his innocence.
Castro said, “If I had touched the ball‚ it’s simple – the ball would have gone straight to the goal."
The striker added, “Nurkovic was onside. So it’s a clear goal.”
The Safa review team seem to corroborate Castro's version of events as they deemed the goal to be legitimate.
Enjoyed reading our story? Download BRIEFLY’s news app on Google Play now and stay up-to-date with major South African news!