Shawn Mendes takes home coveted 'Best Artist' award at EMA's

Shawn Mendes takes home coveted 'Best Artist' award at EMA's

- The MTV Europe Music Awards took place at the FIBES Conference and Exhibition Centre in Seville, Spain yesterday

- The night's most coveted award, Best Artist, went to singer and songwriter Shawn Mendes

- Mendes received the win following the release of his self-titled third album last year

PAY ATTENTION: Click 'See First' under 'Following' tab to see Briefly news on your news feed.

Mendes released such critically acclaimed hits as Señorita and If I Can't Have You this year.

Mendes is currently in a high profile relationship with fellow singer Camila Cabello.

Other big winners on the night included Taylor Swift, FKA Twigs and Nicki Minaj.

READ MORE: Proud father, Fezakele Kolisi, watched his son make history in Japan

A full list of the winners is as follows:

Best UK Act:

Little Mix (WINNER)

Lewis Capaldi



Ed Sheeran

Best US Act:

Taylor Swift (WINNER)

Ariana Grande

Billie Eilish

Lil Nas X


Best Song

"bad guy," Billie Eilish (WINNER)

"7 rings," Ariana Grande

"Old Town Road (Remix)," Lil Nas X ft. Billy Ray Cyrus

"Sunflower," Post Malone & Swae Lee

"Señorita," Shawn Mendes & Camila Cabello

Best Artist

Shawn Mendes (WINNER)

Ariana Grande

J Balvin

Miley Cyrus

Taylor Swift

Best Video

"ME!," Taylor Swift ft. Brendon Urie of Panic! At The Disco (WINNER)

"thank u, next," Ariana Grande

"bad guy, Billie Eilish

"Old Town Road (Remix)," Lil Nas X ft. Billy Ray Cyrus

"Con Altura," ROSALÍA & J Balvin ft. El Guincho\

Best Collaboration

ROSALÍA & J Balvin ft. El Guincho, "Con Altura" (WINNER)

BTS & Halsey, "Boy With Luv"

Lil Nas X ft. Billy Ray Cyrus, "Old Town Road (Remix)"

Mark Ronson ft. Miley Cyrus, "Nothing Breaks Like a Heart"

Shawn Mendes & Camila Cabello, "Señorita"

The Chainsmokers & Bebe Rexha, "Call You Mine"

Best New

Billie Eilish (WINNER)

Ava Max

Lewis Capaldi

Lil Nas X



Best Pop

Halsey (WINNER)

Ariana Grande

Becky G

Camila Cabello

Jonas Brothers

Shawn Mendes

Best Live


Ariana Grande

Ed Sheeran


Travis Scott

Best Rock

Green Day (WINNER)

Imagine Dragons

Liam Gallagher

Panic! At The Disco

The 1975

Best Hip Hop

Nicki Minaj (WINNER)

21 Savage

Cardi B

J. Cole

Travis Scott

Best Alternative


Lana Del Rey


twenty one pilots

Vampire Weekend

Best Electronic

Martin Garrix (WINNER)

Calvin Harris

DJ Snake


The Chainsmokers

Best Look

Halsey (WINNER)

J Balvin

Lil Nas X



Biggest Fans


Ariana Grande

Billie Eilish

Shawn Mendes

Taylor Swift

Best Push

Ava Max (WINNER)

Billie Eilish



Jade Bird

Juice WRLD

Kiana Ledé


Lewis Capaldi




Best World Stage

Muse - Bilbao, Spain 2018 (WINNER)

Bebe Rexha - Isle of MTV Malta 2019

Hailee Steinfeld - Isle of MTV Malta 2018

The 1975 - Lollapalooza Paris Festival 2019

twenty one pilots - Lollapalooza Paris Festival 2019

Local Winners

Best African Act: Burna Boy

Best Australian Act: Ruel

Best Belgian Act: MATTN

Best Brasilian Act: Pabllo Vitta

Best Canadian Act: Johnny Orlando

Best Caribbean Act: Anuel AA

Best Danish Act: Nicklas Sahl

Best Dutch Act: Snelle

Best Finnish Act: JVG

Best French Act: Kendji Girac

Best German Act: Juju

Best Greater China Act: Shen Zhou

Best Hungarian Act: Király Viktor

Best India Act: Emiway Bantai

Best Italian Act: Mahmood

Best Japan Act: King Gnu

Best KoreanAct: ATEEZ

Best Lat Am Central Act: Sebastián Yatra

Best Lat Am North Act: Mon Laferte

Best Lat Am South Act: J MENA

Best New Zealand Act: JessB

Best Norwegian Act: Sigrid

Best Polish Act: Roksana Węgiel

Best Portuguese Act: Fernando Daniel

Best MTV Russia Act: Maruv

Best Southeast Asia Act: Jasmine Sokko

Best Spanish Act: Lola Índigo

Best Swedish Act: Avicii

Enjoyed reading our story? Download BRIEFLY's news app on Google Play now and stay up-to-date with major South African news!


Mailfire view pixel