Complete list of ANC NEC members

Complete list of ANC NEC members

Every organisation, whether political, religious or corporate, thrives, partly, through effective leadership. For the smooth running of the African National Congress, ANC NEC members are usually elected to oversee the activities of the organisation for a specified number of years before the election of new ANC NEC members is conducted. Therefore, in the article, you will get to know the activities of these elected members. A comprehensive list of the elected ANC NEC members 2017 is also given to intimate yourself with the leadership of the organisation.

ANC NEC members

Image:, @MYANC
Source: Twitter

The African National Congress (ANC) is the governing political party of South Africa. Since Nelson Mandela was elected in 1994, the party has been ruling. Founded on the 8th of January, 1912, initially as the South African Native National Congress (SANNC), it intended to unite all Africans to defend their rights and freedoms. ANC South Africa constitutes of officials, National Executive Committee, National Working Committee, Deployment to Committees, Provincial Leadership and Subcommittees.

What is the NEC in South Africa?

The ANC NEC in its full term is African National Congress National Executive Committee, and it is the highest organ of the organisation. Following the provisions of their Constitution, the NEC ANC is saddled with the responsibility of leading the organisation.

READ ALSO: Fezile Mkhize age, girlfriend, Mr. South Africa, and Instagram

During ANC NEC meetings, issues affecting the organisation are discussed and decided. But apart from that, other spelt out powers of the NEC South Africa, are enshrined in their Constitution, and some of them include the following:

  • Act according to whatever the National General Council and the National Conference decide and instruct them to do;
  • Supervising and directing the work of the ANC as well as various organs within the organisation including local, provincial and national government causes;
  • The democratic and effective functioning of the ANC provincial, regional and branch structures;
  • Establishment of departments and setting up committees based on prevalent needs;
  • Management and control of every national and international asset and property of the organisation;
  • Receipt of reports, supervision of the work, and delegation of functions to the National Working Committee (NWC);
  • Overseeing the activities of the Veterans, Women's and Youth Leagues.

How many NEC members are there?

The National Executive Committee of the ANC consists of eighty members who are elected during the ANC's National Conference. And as published on their official website, they are supposed to hold office for five years before another election is conducted.

ANC NEC composition

Usually, the NEC members compose of, at least, fifty per cent of women who are elected during the National Conference. Then, while all the new ANC NEC members are elected at the same time, the positions of the President, Deputy President, National Chairperson, the Secretary-General, Deputy Secretary-General and the Treasurer-General are separately elected.

READ ALSO: Joel Stransky age, children, wife, illness, accident, face, education, business and Instagram

More so, expected to be ex-officio members of the NEC are the Chairpersons and the Secretaries of Provincial Executive Committees as well as the President and Secretary-General of the Women's League. The other ex-officio members are the Presidents and Secretaries-General of the Youth and Veterans Leagues.

ANC NEC members

Image:, @MYANC
Source: Twitter

Who are the new ANC NEC members?

The comprehensive ANC NEC list of members elected during the party's 54th National Conference includes the following:

  1. Malusi Gigaba
  2. Ronald Lamola
  3. Violet Siqeda
  4. Zweli Mkhize
  5. Lindiwe Zulu
  6. Regina Mohaule
  7. David Masondo
  8. Zizi Kodwa
  9. Obed Bapela
  10. Tito Mboweni
  11. Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma
  12. Pravin Gordhan
  13. Naledi Pandor
  14. Sdumo Dlamini
  15. Bathabile Dlamini
  16. Senzo Mchunu
  17. Alvin Boates
  18. Zingiswa Losi
  19. Jackson Mthembu
  20. Pumullo Masualle
  21. Bheki Cele
  22. Fikile Mbalula
  23. Mduduzi Manana
  24. Nomvula Mokonyane
  25. Joel Netshitenzhe
  26. Dakota Lekgoete
  27. Nosiviwe Mapisa Nqakula
  28. Thoko Didiza
  29. Sifiso Buthelezi
  30. Baleka Mbete
  31. Derek Hanekom
  32. Mondli Gungubele
  33. Tony Yengeni
  34. Tina Joemat-Peterse
  35. Angie Motshekga
  36. David Mahlobo
  37. Jeff Radebe
  38. Nkenke Kekana
  39. Maite Mashabane
  40. Edna Molewa
  41. Collen Maine
  42. Nathi Mthethwa
  43. NomaIndia Mfeketo
  44. Nokuzola Capa
  45. Susan Shabangu
  46. Pinky Moloi
  47. Beauty Dlulane
  48. Hlengiwe Mkhize
  49. Pammy Majodina
  50. Faith Muthambi
  51. Ruth Bhengu
  52. Mosebenzi Zwane
  53. Ngoako Ramatlodi
  54. Mathole Motshekga
  55. Cindy Tshikunga
  56. Gwen Ramokgopa
  57. Sylvia Lucas
  58. Pinky Kekana
  59. Nocawe Mafu
  60. Joe Maswanganyi
  61. Dikeledi Makatsi
  62. Thabang Makwetla
  63. Siyabonga Cwele
  64. Babara Creecy
  65. Noxolo Kieviet
  66. Mildred Oliphant
  67. Khensani Khubayi
  68. Sibongile Besani
  69. Rejoice Mabudafasi
  70. Candith Mashego
  71. Thandi Mahambehlala
  72. Pule Mabe
  73. Aaron Motsoaledi
  74. Thandi Modise
  75. Bongani Bongo
  76. Enoch Godongwana
  77. Lindiwe Sisulu
  78. Pamela Tshwete
  79. Thokozile Xasa
  80. Dipuo Letsatsi-Duba

The election of ANC NEC members is to ensure effective coordination and management of the activities of the organisation. While these are expected to be elected through a secret ballot, except otherwise stipulated, in case there is a vacancy for whatever reason(s), the NEC has the power to appoint a replacement.

READ ALSO: Luthando Shosha (Lootlove) age, measurements, baby, baby daddy, haircut, other names, TV shows and Instagram


Mailfire view pixel