DA has elected John Steenhuisen as their interim federal leader

DA has elected John Steenhuisen as their interim federal leader

- The Democratic Alliance has made its decision regarding the interim federal leader

- Johan Steenhuisen has been elected into this position

- Ivan Meyer was elected as interim federal chairperson

PAY ATTENTION: Click “See First” under the “Following” tab to see Briefly.co.za News on your News Feed!

Johan Steenhuisen has been elected by the Democratic Alliance as the party's interim federal leader.

According to News24, Ivan Meyer was chosen as interim federal chairperson during a closed federal council meeting held at the DA's headquarters in Johannesburg.

Party spokesperson Solly Malatsi confirmed the news in an announcement on social media.

READ ALSO: Floyd Shivambu slapped with assault charges: Court appearance looms

The men will hold these temporary positions until the official election which is expected to take place in April 2020.

This comes after Mmusi Maimane and Athol Trollip left the party left the party just a short while after Helen Zille was chosen as federal council chair.

Briefly.co.za learnt that 160 DA council members gathered to cast their votes and they consisted of premiers, MECs, mayors, members of the different mayoral committees in SA as well as all national and provincial spokespersons.

Enjoyed reading our story? Download BRIEFLY's news app on Google Play now and stay up-to-date with major South African news!

Source: Briefly.co.za

Mailfire view pixel