The legends of South African soccer: 4 Best PSL coaches of all-time

The legends of South African soccer: 4 Best PSL coaches of all-time

South African football has seen some phenomenal coaches over the years and focuses on four of the most successful coaches since the inception of the Premier Soccer League (PSL).

PAY ATTENTION: Click “See First” under the “Following” tab to see News on your News Feed!

South African club football has been in existence for decades but the Premier Soccer League (PSL) was only formed in 1996.

During this time, football fans have witnessed some special coaches, but four men stand out above the rest.

These four coaches have all won the league title on four occasions.

READ ALSO: Rhulani touches on discrimination at Pirates: “It's a sensitive topic”

Pitso Mosimane

Mosimane became the most recent inductee into the prestigious four PSL title club.

Mosimane made a name for himself at SuperSport United, after he took over the reigns in 2001.

The outspoken mentor won the SAA Supa 8 and Absa Cup in 2004, and 2005 respectively, but then reached another level after heading to Mamelodi Sundowns in 2012.

Under his guidance, the Brazilians won the PSL title in 2014, 2016, 2018 and 2019.

Many argue that he should be rated as the best in the business due to his Caf Champions League and Caf Super Cup triumphs as well.

Ted Dimitru

Dimitru was one of the finest coaches in the early years of the PSL and was responsible for putting Sundowns on the map as one of the big boys.

The late Romanian won league titles with the Brazilians in 1998 and 1999.

Dimitru eventually joined Kaizer Chiefs and his second spell at the club proved to be highly productive.

After guiding the Amakhosi to back-to-back league titles, he made history by becoming the first coach to win the PSL on four occasions.

READ ALSO: Kaizer Chiefs striker Samir Nurkovic targets his 1st league title

Gavin Hunt

Hunt is one of the four coaches to have won the PSL on four occasions, but what sets him apart is that he did it with less-fancied sides.

After winning the Absa Cup with Moroka Swallows in 2004, Hunt made the move to SuperSport United and this is where his career really took off.

The 55-year-old tactician led them to PSL glory between 2008 and 2010.

He then followed this up with his fourth league title in 2017 with Bidvest Wits.

Gordon Igesund

Igesund burst on the scene when he became the first coach to win the PSL title in its inaugural season with Manning Rangers.

In 2000, Igesund joined Orlando Pirates and did the double of the PSL and BP Top 8 in his one and only season there.

Incredibly, the KZN-born mentor then joined Santos the following season and struck gold again. Few predicted that the Cape-based side would march to the PSL title.

Igesund eventually moved to Mamelodi Sundowns and won his fourth league title in 2007.

Previously, reported on the highest paid PSL coaches, what they make, who they manage, and much more.

Enjoyed reading our story? Download BRIEFLY’s news app on Google Play now and stay up-to-date with major South African news!

Source: Briefly News

Online view pixel