Patrice Motsepe signs 4-year deal with Pitso Mosimane at Sundowns

Patrice Motsepe signs 4-year deal with Pitso Mosimane at Sundowns

- Mamelodi Sundowns coach Pitso Mosimane has signed a four-year extension with the club

- The news ended months of speculation as Mosimane's contract was winding down

- Club president Patrice Motsepe expressed his joy, as the news was announced

PAY ATTENTION: Click “See First” under the “Following” tab to see News on your News Feed!

Mamelodi Sundowns coach Pitso Mosimane has enjoyed a phenomenal spell at the Brazilians since joining them in December 2012.

The outspoken mentor has won a record four PSL titles, two Telkom Knockout cups and one Nedbank Cup.

He is widely regarded as one of the best coaches in Africa after he guided Sundowns to the Caf Champions League and CAF Super Cup.

READ ALSO: Rhulani touches on discrimination at Pirates: “It's a sensitive topic”

However, Mosimane's contract was coming to an end and the two parties were struggling to come to an agreement over an extension.

Sundowns supporters are therefore breathing a sigh of relief after news broke that Mosimane has now signed a four-year extension.

SowetanLIVE reported on club president Patrice Motsepe's joy when he broke the news on Thursday.

READ ALSO: Kaizer Chiefs striker Samir Nurkovic targets his 1st league title

Motsepe said, "I am very happy that the board of Sundowns have renewed the contract of our very own Sir Alex Ferguson."

Mosimane commented on the news: "I am pleased to confirm that I have signed a four year contract with the club that I love. To the Yellow Nation, thanks to the love and support and I believe the best is yet to come. We will not stop until we deliver the second star."

Sundowns are still in with a great chance of winning the league this season as well. The Brazilians are four points behind long leaders Kaizer Chiefs, but have a game in hand.

Meanwhile, previously reported that Mosimane is among the four most successful coaches in PSL history.

Mosimane is one of only four coaches to have won the league title on four different occasions.

Enjoyed reading our story? Download BRIEFLY’s news app on Google Play now and stay up-to-date with major South African news!


Online view pixel