Nobel Prize for Medicine awarded to 3 winners for discovering Hepatitis C

Nobel Prize for Medicine awarded to 3 winners for discovering Hepatitis C

- The 2020 Nobel Prize for Medicine has been awarded to three virologists who will share the over $1.07m award money

- Harvey J Alter, Charles M Rice and Michael Houghton were recognised for discovering the Hepatitis C virus

- On hearing the news of their winning, the recipients could not contain their joy

PAY ATTENTION: Click “See First” under the “Following” tab to see News on your News Feed!

The popular Nobel Prize in Medicine for 2020 edition has been awarded to Harvey J Alter, Charles M Rice and Michael Houghton. It should be noted that the award gives the recipients an opportunity to belong to one of the most prestigious groups in the world.

The announcement was made on Monday, October 5, as the Nobel Assembly said that the scientists contributed greatly to "the identification of novel virus” called hepatitis, CNN reports.

Read also

Bruno Martini, 58, French goalkeeping legend, dies of cardiac arrest

The 2020 Nobel Prize was given at Sweden’s Karolinska Institute on Monday, October 5. Another thing worthy of note is that an estimated number of 71 million people around the world have the disease.

According to the World Health Organization, a big percentage of that figure will have issues such as cirrhosis or liver cancer.

Thomas Perlmann, the Nobels' secretary, said that he had to try calling the winners several times before he was able to reach two of them.

A collage of the virologists.
Photo source: Nature
A collage of the virologists. Photo source: Nature
Source: UGC

He said when they, however, picked up their phones, they were super excited about the news.

Alter discovered that the virus could be transferred to chimpanzees. Houghton identified the C sequence of the disease while Rice showed that the Hepatitis C virus alone could cause Hepatitis.

The three joint winners will share about $1.07 million prize money. After Alfred Nobel, the prize founder, created a fund to give a bigger part of fortune to humanity, the platform has been a rewarding outstanding achievement in literature, physics, chemistry, physiology or medicine and economic sciences.

Read also

Religious leaders plead with congregants to be careful of COVID-19

Meanwhile, it was earlier reported that the 2019 Nobel Peace Prize was on Friday, October 11, awarded to Abiy Ahmed, Ethiopia's prime minister, as he was recognised for making a peace deal with the country’s historical enemy, Eritrea.

The minister’s peace move ended the country’s two decades enmity with the country as an Ethiopian associate professor of law, Awo Allo, said the prime minister deserved the honour.

In awarding the prize, the chair of the Norwegian Nobel Committee, Berit Reiss-Andersen, during a press conference in Oslo, said Ahmed has been given to the promotion of “reconciliation, solidarity, and social justice."

Enjoyed reading our story? Download BRIEFLY's news app on Google Play now and stay up-to-date with major South African news!


Online view pixel