Explainer: Countries which have imposed Covid-19 travel bans on SA

Explainer: Countries which have imposed Covid-19 travel bans on SA

South Africa has reported widespread instances of the new strain of Covid-19 and this has prompted international action. Briefly.co.za explores the list of countries that have now banned travel to SA.

PAY ATTENTION: Click “See First” under the “Following” tab to see Briefly.co.za News on your News Feed!

The festive season is in full swing and, even at this late stage in the game, Covid-19 is still throwing spanners in the works.

A number of countries have opted to err on the side of caution and ban flights to and from SA.

Six nations in total have opted to impose restrictions on flights as of this morning, some partial bans while others completely barred entry from the country.


Numerous countries have imposed a travel ban on SA. Image: Andreas Rosar/picture alliance
Source: Getty Images


This European hub has opted to completely ban all flights from SA, strict action directly affecting the country


Germany has now also confirmed that it plans to suspend flights from SA after a weekend of speculation.

Covid-19 update: Israel blocks travel from SA amid second wave

The country has also opted to ban arrivals from the United Kingdom in addition to Mzansi

Saudi Arabia

This nation has opted to close all of its borders, irrespective of where travellers come from.


The Swiss government has confirmed that it will be suspending flights from both SA and the UK 'until further notice'.


Health Minister Fahrettin Koca took to social media to confirm that flights from Britain, Denmark, the Netherlands and South Africa would be suspended going forward.

Earlier, Briefly.co.za reported that Israel has announced that it will be barred entry to travellers from Britain, Denmark and South Africa over a new strain of coronavirus was detected in these countries.

Israeli citizens returning home from these nations will also be facing tough restrictions, set to be confined in army-run hotels serving as quarantine centres.

Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu's office released a statement after the 'immediate action to prevent foreigners from entering Israel' was approved by the country's emergency coronavirus panel.

New fast-spreading type of coronavirus found in United Kingdom

European nations are opting to ban flights from the United Kingdom after the World Health Organisation called for stronger measures.

This call was prompted after the British government warned that the new variant of Covid-19 was 'out of control'.

Italy and Austria are also set to impose restrictions on British flights after the WHO called for restrictions to countries where infections had spiked to be doubled.

Enjoyed reading our story? Download BRIEFLY's news app on Google Play now and stay up-to-date with major South African news!

Source: Briefly.co.za

Online view pixel