Breaking: Ramaphosa reshuffles his Cabinet: Who's out and who's in?

Breaking: Ramaphosa reshuffles his Cabinet: Who's out and who's in?

President Cyril Ramaphosa has performed his long awaited Cabinet reshuffle and removes ministers and replaces them with people of his own choosing.

PAY ATTENTION: Click “See First” under the “Following” tab to see News on your News Feed!

This is a risky operation for Ramaphosa as he may suffer some political backlash over the appointment.

Rumours were swirling around social media about who would be in and who would be out. Names of ministers implicated in state capture were among the top of those suspected of being removed.

Reports earlier indicated that the Minister of Police Fikile Mbalula had been fired.

The burning question on many people's minds was that of the position of deputy president. The front runners were Lindiwe Sisule, Naledi Pandor and David Mabuza.

Ramaphosa took pains to mention that he had to balance the need for change with the need for continuity. The size of the Cabinet is under review and once the review is complete changes to the number of ministries would be altered.

READ ALSO: Nelson Mandela photo worth R2.1 billion: Photographer suing government for unlawful use

Here are the changes:

Deputy President:

David Mabuza

Minister of Finance:

Nhlanhla Nene – replacing Malusi Gigaba

Deputy Minister of Finance:

Mondli Gungubele – replacing Sfiso Buthelezi

Minister of Energy:

Jeff Radebe – replacing David Mahlobo

Minister of State Security:

Dipuo letstasi Duba – replacing Bongani Bongo

Minister Public Enterprises:

Pravin Gordan – replacing Lynne Brown

Minister of Home Affairs:

Malusi Gigaba – replacing Ayanda Dlodlo

Minister of International Relations:

Lindiwe Sisulu – replacing Maite Nkoana-Mashabane

Minister of Public Works:

Thulas Nxesi – replacing Nathi Nhleko

Minister of Water and Sanitation:

Gugile Nkwinti – replacing Nomvula Mokonyane

Minister of Transport:

Blade Nzimande – replacing Joe Maswanganyi

Minister of Sports:

Thoko Xasa – replacing Thulas Nxesi

Minister of Communications:

Nomvula Mokonyane – replacing Mmamoloko Kubayi-Ngubane

Deputy Minister of Communications:

Pinkie Kekana – replacing Tandi Mahambehlala

Minister of Social Development:

Susan Shabangu – replacing Batahbile Dlamini

Minister of Mineral Resources:

Gwede Mantashe – replacing Mosebenzi Zwane

Minister of Cooperation Governance:

Zweli Mkhize – replacing Des van Rooyen

Minister of Science and Technology:

David Mahlobo – Naledi Pandor

Minister of Police:

Bheki Cele – replacing Fikile Mbalula

Minister of higher educ

Naledi Pandor – replacing

Minister of Human Settlements:

Nomaindia Mfeketo – replacing Lindiwe Sisulu

Minister of Public Service and Administration:

Ayanda Dlodlo – replacing Faith Muthambi

Minister Rural development:

Maite Nkoana-Mashabane – replacing Gugule Nkwiti

Minister of Tourism:

Darek Hanekom – replacing Thoko Xasa

Minister in the Presidency for Monitoring:

Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma

Minister in the Presidency:

Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma – replacing Jeff Radebe

Minister for Women and Disability in the Presidency:

Bathabile Dlamini – replacing Susan Shabangu

READ ALSO: ANC says cabinet reshuffle and vacant deputy presidency are not pressing issues

Do you have a story to share with us? Inbox us on our Facebook page and we could feature your story.

To stay up to date with the latest news, download our news app on Google Play or iTunes today.


Related news
ANC promises SA: It's the end of the road for corrupt officials

ANC promises SA: It's the end of the road for corrupt officials

ANC promises SA: It's the end of the road for corrupt officials
Mailfire view pixel