President Ramaphosa reveals reshuffled cabinet

President Ramaphosa reveals reshuffled cabinet

- President Cyril Ramaphosa announced changes to his cabinet late on Monday evening

- Ramaphosa fired 10 ministers, moved several others to new portfolios and appointed David Mabuza as deputy president of the country

- Ramaphosa has not reduced the size of his cabinet and indicated this would only be done after a review of government is complete

PAY ATTENTION: Click "See First" under the "Following" tab to see Briefly news on your News Feed!

President Cyril Ramaphosa announced his reshuffled cabinet late on Monday evening. Ramaphosa took a page out of former president Jacob Zuma’s playbook by making the surprise announcement.

Ramaphosa has appointed African National Congress (ANC) deputy president as his deputy in the government. He fired 10 ministers and moved several others to new portfolios.

READ ALSO: Zuma: If I has 6 months as a dictator children hooked on drugs would be sent to Robben Island gathered that the much-hyped shrinking of the cabinet did not happen. Ramaphosa said the cabinet would only be shrunk once a comprehensive review of the configuration, size and number of the national government is complete.

The president has played a delicate balancing act of strengthening his team in government, appeasing ANC officials who remain loyal to Zuma and ridding those ministers who were seen as Gupta appointees.

Perhaps one of the biggest shocks of the reshuffle is Bathabile Dlamini surviving, she has been moved from Social Developments to Minister for Women and Disability in the Presidency. Malusi Gigaba has been moved back to Home Affairs.

Nhlanhla Nene makes a welcome return as Finance Minister while Pravin Gordhan will have the critical task of trying to resurrect the Public Enterprises portfolio.

The following former ministers find themselves being just regular ANC Members of Parliament this morning: Fikile Mbalula, Faith Muthambi, Mosebenzi Zwane, Des van Rooyen, Lynne Brown, Bongani Bongo, Hlengiwe Mkhize, Nkosinathi Nhleko, David Mahlobo, and Joe Maswanganyi.

Ramaphosa’s full cabinet looks like this:

Deputy President:

David Mabuza

Minister of Finance:

Nhlanhla Nene – replacing Malusi Gigaba

Deputy Minister of Finance:

Mondli Gungubele – replacing Sfiso Buthelezi

Minister of Energy:

Jeff Radebe – replacing David Mahlobo

Minister of State Security:

Dipuo Letsatsi-Duba – replacing Bongani Bongo

Minister Public Enterprises:

Pravin Gordan – replacing Lynne Brown

Minister of Home Affairs:

Malusi Gigaba – replacing Ayanda Dlodlo

Minister of International Relations:

Lindiwe Sisulu – replacing Maite Nkoana-Mashabane

Deputy Minister of International Relations:

Regina Mhaule – replacing Nomaindia Mfeketo

Minister of Public Works:

Thulas Nxesi – replacing Nathi Nhleko

Minister of Water and Sanitation:

Gugile Nkwinti – replacing Nomvula Mokonyane

Minister of Transport:

Blade Nzimande – replacing Joe Maswanganyi

Minister of Sports:

Toko Xasa – replacing Thulas Nxesi

Minister of Communications:

Nomvula Mokonyane – replacing Mmamoloko Kubayi-Ngubane

Deputy Minister of Communications:

Pinkie Kekana – replacing Tandi Mahambehlala

Minister of Social Development:

Susan Shabangu – replacing Bathabile Dlamini

Minister of Mineral Resources:

Gwede Mantashe – replacing Mosebenzi Zwane

Minister of Cooperative Governance:

Zweli Mkhize – replacing Des van Rooyen

Minister of Science and Technology:

Mmamoloko Kubayi-Ngubane – replacing Naledi Pandor

Minister of Police:

Bheki Cele – replacing Fikile Mbalula

Minister of Higher Education:

Naledi Pandor – replacing Hlengiwe Mkhize

Minister of Human Settlements:

Nomaindia Mfeketo – replacing Lindiwe Sisulu

Minister of Small Business Development:

Lindiwe Zulu – unchanged

Deputy Minister of Small Business Development:

Cassel Mathale – replacing Nomathemba November

Minister of Public Service and Administration:

Ayanda Dlodlo – replacing Faith Muthambi

Deputy Minister of Public Service and Administration:

Chana Pilane-Majake - replacing Dipuo Letsatsi-Duba

Minister Rural Development:

Maite Nkoana-Mashabane – replacing Gugule Nkwiti

Minister of Tourism:

Darek Hanekom – replacing Thoko Xasa

Minister in the Presidency for Planning, Monitoring, and Evaluation:

Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma – replacing Jeff Radebe

Minister for Women and Disability in the Presidency:

Bathabile Dlamini – replacing Susan Shabangu

Minister of Agriculture:

Senzeni Zokwana - unchanged

Deputy Minister of Agriculture:

Sfiso Buthelezi – replacing Bheki Cele

READ ALSO: SACP joining the fight to keep to reverse 15% VAT hike

What are your thoughts on President Ramaphosa’s cabinet? Visit our Facebook page where you can send us a message or leave us a comment. Your story could be shared online.

To stay up to date with the latest news, download our news app on GooglePlay or iTunes today.


Related news
MPs call for Steinhoff CEO Markus Jooste and accomplices behind bars

MPs call for Steinhoff CEO Markus Jooste and accomplices behind bars

MPs call for Steinhoff CEO Markus Jooste and accomplices behind bars
Mailfire view pixel