You are the weakest link goodbye: 4 Ministers South Africans won’t miss

You are the weakest link goodbye: 4 Ministers South Africans won’t miss

- President Cyril Ramaphosa fired 10 ministers on Monday night as part of his cabinet refresh

- Ramaphosa brought back the steady hands of Pravin Gordhan and Nhlanhla Nene

- Some ministers such as Malusi Gigaba and Bathabile Dlamini were lucky to survive, but others were not so lucky

PAY ATTENTION: Click "See First" under the "Following" tab to see Briefly news on your News Feed!

President Cyril Ramaphosa did a Jacob Zuma on Monday night when he announced a cabinet reshuffle at a time when most people had already gone to bed.

Luckily for the country, this is where any similarities between Ramaphosa and Zuma’s cabinet reshuffle’s end.

READ ALSO: How did Bathabile survive the Cabinet reshuffle? SA social media can't believe it

Ramaphosa announced a refreshed cabinet with quite a few ministers being moved to new (or in some cases old) portfolios. Ramaphosa also fired 10 ministers. looks at the four ministers South Africans will probably be glad have been booted out of office, these ministers have been tainted by allegations of tender fraud, corruption state capture and dodgy dealings.

1. Lynne Brown – Former Public Enterprises Ministers

Brown was at the helm when some of the worst cases of corruption and maladministration took place in state-owned enterprises (SOE’s). She denied knowing about dodgy dealings at Eskom, Transnet and Denel.

Brown personally appointed some of the worst executives to ever have served at SOE’s and who are alleged to be deeply involved in state capture.

The Public Protector found that Brown had misled Parliament and had breached the executive code of ethics.

Brown has been replaced by Pravin Gordhan

2. Mosebenzi Zwane – Former Mineral Resources Minister

Zwane was seen as a Zuma puppet and has been personally implicated in the Estina dairy farm scandal.

Zwane is alleged to have awarded the Free State-based project to the Gupta family. Parliament’s portfolio committee for mineral resources has resolved to launch a full-scale investigation into Zwane.

He will be replaced by Gwede Mantashe

3. David Mahlobo – Former Energy Minister

Mahlobo was appointed to his former position in what has become Jacob Zuma’s final cabinet reshuffle. His appointment was seen as a move by Zuma to ensure the controversial and cripplingly expensive nuclear build programme would be finalised.

Under Mahlobo’s leadership at the State Security Agency, secret state information was allegedly leaked to the Gupta family.

Mahlobo has been replaced by Jeff Radebe

4. Des van Rooyen – Former Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs Minister

Van Rooyen is best known for serving as finance minister for four days after Nhlanhla Nene was controversially fired in 2015.

Van Rooyen has admitted to meeting members of the Gupta family and asking for their assistance with government matters. The Public Protector found he deliberately misled Parliament about this meeting.

Van Rooyen has been replaced by Zweli Mkhize

READ ALSO: Mbuyiseni Ndlozi aka ‘The People’s Bae’ shares pictures of his stunning partner

Do you have a story to share with Briefly? Visit our Facebook page where you can send us a message or leave us a comment. Your story could be shared online.

To stay up to date with the latest news, download our news app on GooglePlay or iTunes today.


Mailfire view pixel