Ramaphosa appoints Economic Advisory Panel to prompt growth in SA

Ramaphosa appoints Economic Advisory Panel to prompt growth in SA

- President Cyril Ramaphosa has appointed a Presidential Economic Advisory Council to combat SA's challenges

- Taking effect from the beginning of October the council is expected to ensure coherence and consistency in economic policy

- The move is aimed at ensuring that both the state and society is equipped to adapt to changing economic circumstances

PAY ATTENTION: Click “See First” under the “Following” tab to see Briefly.co.za News on your News Feed!

President Cyril Ramaphosa has appointed the Presidential Economic Advisory Council to help South Africa during tough economic times.

Taking effect from the start of October, the panel consists of both local and international economic leaders.

The council will advise Ramaphosa and the government to facilitate not only the development but the implementation of policies that hope to spur inclusive growth.

PAY ATTENTION: Do you want to know what's trending on Briefly.co.za? Join our WhatsApp group today.

President Cyril Ramaphosa has appointed members of the Presidential Economic Advisory Council with effect from 1 October 2019.

Briefly.co.za reported that the country had experienced poor growth in the first quarter of 2019, seeing a contraction in the GDP.

The council members are said to have volunteered their time for a three-year term, compensated for 'subsistence and travel'.

READ ALSO: Shivambu shares screenshots of confrontation over VBS allegations

The members Ramaphosa has selected for the Council are:

  • Professor Benno Ndulu ( Former Governor of the Bank of Tanzania)
  • Professor Mzukisi Qobo ( Professor of Internation Business at Wits University)
  • Professor Dani Rodrik ( Professor of International Political Economy at the John F. Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University)
  • Prof Mariana Mazzucato (Professor in the Economics of Innovation and Public Value, and Director of the Institute for Innovation and Public Purpose at the University College London)
  • Mamello Matikinca-Ngwenya (First National Bank Chief Economist)
  • Dr Renosi Mokate ( Former Deputy Governor of the South African Reserve Bank)
  • Dr Kenneth Creamer ( Academic economist based at the University of the Witwatersrand)
  • Professor Alan Hirsch (Director of the Graduate School of Development Policy and Practice, University of Cape Town)
  • Professor Tania Ajam( Professor of public financial management at the University of Stellenbosch School of Public Leadership)
  • Dr Grové Steyn (One of South Africa’s leading infrastructure and regulatory economists)
  • Mr Wandile Sihlobo ( Agricultural Economist and Head of Agribusiness Research at the Agricultural Business Chamber of South Africa)
  • Dr Liberty Mncube (Former Chief Economist at the Competition Commission and current scholar at Wits University)
  • Professor Fiona Tregenna (Professor in the Department of Economics and Econometrics at the University of Johannesburg)
  • Professor Haroon Bhorat (Professor of Economics and Director of the Development Policy Research Unit, University of Cape Town)
  • Mr Ayabonga Cawe (Development economist actively engaged as a public intellectual)
  • Professor Vusi Gumede (Professor at the University of South Africa and former Director of the Thabo Mbeki African Leadership Institute)
  • Dr Thabi Leoka (An economist who has worked for various organisations in the financial sector and was recently appointed by President Ramaphosa to the Public Investment Corporation Commission of Inquiry)
  • Professor Imraan Valodia (Economist and Dean of the Faculty of Commerce, Law and Management at the University of Witwatersrand)

Enjoyed reading our story? Download BRIEFLY's news app on Google Play now and stay up-to-date with major South African news!

Source: Briefly.co.za

Online view pixel