KZN - KwaZulu-Natal avatar

KZN - KwaZulu-Natal

  • Population: 11.1 million
  • Area: 94,361 km²
  • Capital: Pietermaritzburg
  • Colony of Natal: 4 May 1843
  • ISO 3166 code: ZA-KZN


KwaZulu-Natal was granted self-government under apartheid on 1 December 1977.

Following the repeal of apartheid and the resorption of KwaZulu in 1994, Natal was renamed KwaZulu-Natal.


The KwaZulu-Natal Department of Education is responsible for the provision and control of education in schools in the province.

The department’s Head of Department (HoD), Nkosinathi Ngcobo, started his teaching career at Mqhawe High School in Inanda, his birthplace, under the then Ndwedwe Circuit. He then took up a lecturing post at the Ntuzuma College of Education after finishing his Master’s Degree at the State University of New York.

Law and government

The KwaZulu-Natal School Education Act, No. 3 of 1996, enables the minister to govern effectively the provision and control of education in schools in the province as currently prevailing, but in a manner which will reflect the new dispensation in the country by eliminating discrimination, promoting equity and reinforcing human rights, pending the final formulation of national policy, and for matters connected therewith.

The official website of the KwaZulu-Natal Provincial Government provides information on various aspects of governance and administration.

Related articles

Online view pixel