Barcelona profile: President, stadium, owner, squad, trophies

Barcelona profile: President, stadium, owner, squad, trophies

FC Barcelona is one of the most common names in the football world. The Spanish team has gained fame far beyond its borders. The club has continued to soar higher since its establishment on 29th November 1899. How well do you know Barcelona profile?

Barcelona profile
Source: UGC

Barcelona is one of the most widely supported teams in the world with the largest social media following. The club has experienced some of the greatest global football victories as well.

Barcelona profile

There is so much to learn about FC Barcelona, including its president, manager, and squad members. The football club goes by the nickname, Bluagrana, which is the Catalan word for blue and dark red.

Barcelona logo

The club's current logo dates way back from 2002. Here is the breakdown of the three segments that make up the logo.

  • Top right - It is made of four red bars on a gold background that represents the Catalan National flag.
  • Top left - Saint George Cross, which in Catalan is referred to as the Patron Saint in Catalonia.
  • Bottom - It has Blaugrana colours, which were sported by the first team's shirt.

Read also

Bayern Munich: The best performing German football team in Europe

President and manager

The famous Barcelona president is known as Josep Maria Bartomeu Floreta. He is a Spanish entrepreneur born on 6th February 1963.

Joseph Maria took over the FC Barcelona presidency in 2014 after Sandro Rosell resigned from the position. He is the 40th president of the club.

Barcelona profile
Source: UGC

Currently, the team is managed by Ernesto Valverde Tejedor. He is a former Spanish football player who served as a forward.

Ernesto Valverde Tejedor was appointed as Barcelona's manager in May 2017. Since his appointment, his team has won:

  • 2 La-Liga titles
  • 1 Copa Del Ray
  • 1 Supercopa de Espana

READ ALSO: 5 highest-paid Buccaneers in Orlando Pirates players salary list

Barcelona stadium - Camp Nou

FC Barcelona's official stadium is the Camp Nou in Catalonia, Spain. The ground has a seating capacity of 99,354. Camp Nou is the third-largest stadium in the world.

Read also

Background information on Thomas Sweswe and his worst playing record

Camp Nou construction started in 1954 and took a whopping three years to reach completion. It was officially opened on 24th September 1957.

Barcelona profile
Source: UGC

Who owns Barcelona?

There is no single Barcelona owner but rather a group of members. Barcelona members, known as socis, form an assembly of delegates. They are ranked as the highest governing body of the club.

The club is organized as a registered association together with the likes of Athletic Bilbao, Real Madrid, and Osasuna. Since it is not a limited company, it is impossible to purchase shares in the club.


If you happen to be a huge lover of football and especially a fan of FCB, you must know Barcelona players. Here is a list of Barcelona squad:

  • Marc-Andre ter Stegen
  • Neto
  • Inaki Pena
  • Clement Lenglet
  • Samuel Umtiti
  • Gerard Pique
  • Jean-Clair Todibo
  • Ronald Araujo
  • Jordi Alba
  • Junior Firpo
  • Sergi Roberto
  • Miralem Pjanic
  • Sergio Busquets
  • Matheus Fernandes
  • Frenkie de Jong
  • Riqui Puig
  • Carles Alena
  • Philippe Coutinho
  • Rafinha
  • Ansu Fati
  • Pedri
  • Lionel Messi
  • Ousmane Dembele
  • Trincao
  • Antonie Griezmann
  • Martin Braithwaite

Read also

Interesting details about Orlando Pirates: The South African soccer giants

Diego Maradona has been ranked as one of Barcelona's greatest players. He is closely followed by Ronaldinho in second place and Lionel Messi in the third position.


Barcelona profile
Source: UGC

The club's first trophy, Copa Macaya, marked the FC Barcelona's rise to prominence. Since then, the team has won numerous trophies in different matches. Here is a list of Barcelona trophies:

Champions League titles

FCB has won 5 champions league titles between 1992 and 2015 as follows:

  • 1992 - Against Sampdoria in London (1-0)
  • 2006 - Against Arsenal in Paris (2-1)
  • 2009 - Against Manchester United in Rome (2-0)
  • 2011 - Against Manchester United in London (3-1)
  • 2015 - Against Juventus in Berlin (3-1)

READ ALSO: Richest football clubs in Africa in 2020 - which teams rate highest in the money stakes

La-Liga trophies

The club has won more than 26 trophies since 1928. In 2019, they won the 8th La-Liga title in 11 years. FCB has dominated the league for the past decade. The club has won against the likes of:

Read also

Who is the owner of Mamelodi Sundowns?

  • Real Madrid
  • Atletico Madrid
  • Deportivo La Coruna
  • Valencia

Copa Dey Rey titles

The Campeonato de España–Copa de Su Majestad el Rey commonly known as Copa Del Rey is a yearly knockout football competition. The Royal Spanish Football Federation organizes it.

FCB is one of the most successful clubs in Copa Del Rey competitions, having won more than 30 times. FC Barcelona has won the title against:

  • Sevilla FC
  • Deportivo Alaves
  • Athletic Bilbao
  • Mallorca
  • Real Betis
  • Real Madrid
  • Sporting Gijon
  • Las Palmas
  • Real Sociedad
  • Valencia
  • Real Zaragoza
  • Granada
  • Espanyol
  • Real Union
  • R.S. Gimnastica Espanola
  • club Espanol de Madrid

Barcelona facts

Barcelona profile
Source: UGC

Since its establishment in 1899, the club has grown to be one of the best globally. Here are some facts about FC Barcelona:

  • It was founded by a group of England, Switzerland, and Spain football players led by Joan Gamper.
  • They took home their first trophy in 1902's Copa Macaya competition.
  • Barcelona made history as they became the first club to defeat Real Madrid in the European Cup.
  • The club is widely known as Blaugrana as per its colours in the Catalan language. Blau means blue and grana means garnet or dark red.

Read also

Dan Malesela biography: One of the best SA football coaches for over 20 years

Barcelona profile is a clear indicator that the club is one of the greatest not only in Spain but across the world. With one of its greatest players of all the time, Lionel Messi still in the club, you can rest assured that the team is bound for greatness.

READ ALSO: Who owns Kaizer Chiefs? shared an article on who own Kaizer Chiefs. It is one of the top soccer clubs in South Africa, as it is known for its many wins in the Premier Soccer League. The team has been so successful that it has been given the nickname Amakhosi meaning Lords.

The Kazier Chiefs is one of the oldest football clubs in South Africa. This year, the Club has turned turn 50 years and is still as strong as ever, all thanks to the outstanding management and the hard work of the players.

Read also

Who is May Mahlangu? Find out about his career, stats, salary, and mansion


  • Man Utd transfer news: latest Manchester United news, signings, rumors and transfers
  • 20 richest soccer/football players in the world and their net worth 2020
  • Who owns Orlando pirates?

Source: Briefly News

Online view pixel