EFF Dominates Ekurhuleni’s 10-Member Mayoral Committee

EFF Dominates Ekurhuleni’s 10-Member Mayoral Committee

  • Ekurhuleni Mayor Nkosindiphile Xhakaza announced his 10-member mayoral committee on 16 April 2024.
  • The committee consisted of five EFF members, four ANC members, one AIC member and the speaker's EFF
  • Some citizens weren't sold on the makeup of the committee, and others couldn't help but point out that not much has changed

Zingisa Chirwa is an experienced Briefly News journalist based in Johannesburg, South Africa, who has covered politics and current affairs on the radio for over 15 years.

EFF Dominates Ekurhuleni’s newly elected 10-member Mayoral Committee
EFF's leading the pack in the newly elected Ekurhuleni mayoral committee. Images: X/@BraHlonisky
Source: Twitter

Newly elected Ekurhuleni Mayor Nkosindiphile Xhakaza revealed his 10-member mayoral committee on 16 April 2024.

EFF heads five portfolios

According to BusinessLIVE, the ANC member handed the EFF five tender-heavy portfolios – a move which was described as a show of commitment to working with other parties.

Read also

Emfuleni mayor held hostage by residents demanding answers

PAY ATTENTION: Watch the hottest celebrity stories on our YouTube channel 'Briefly TV'. Subscribe now!

Xhakaza was elected unopposed on 11 April 2024 after a vote of no confidence against his predecessor, the AIC’s Sivuyile Ngodwana.

The new Ekurhuleni mayoral committee:

  • Water & sanitation MMC Thembi Msane (EFF)
  • Finance MMC Nkululeko Dunga (EFF)
  • Environmental resources |& waste management MMC Leshaka Manamela (EFF)
  • Community services MMC Bridget Thusi (EFF)
  • Human settlements MMC Kgopelo Hollo (EFF)
  • Community safety MMC Sizakele Masuku (ANC)
  • Development planning & real estate MMC Nomadlozi Nkosi (ANC)
  • Roads & transport planning MMC Andile Mngwevu (ANC)
  • Energy MMC Mzayifani Ngwenya (ANC)
  • Corporate & shared services MMC Ngodwana (AIC)
  • EFF councillor Nthabiseng Tshivhenga stayed on as council speaker.

Action SA critiques committee

According to EWN, ActionSA criticised the inclusion of five EFF members in the new mayoral committee.

Read also

Special tributes pour in for Amakhosi’s Luke Fleurs

The party's Siyanda Makhubo said the new committee sacrificed service delivery for their convenience.

Netizens react to newly announced committee

South Africans have mixed reactions to Mayor Xhakaza's selection.

@NtshengeSingo said

"Ekurhuleni residents you are on your own. The ANC is in cahoots with the EFF."

@Hloni_Ngwato added:

"So EFF lost nothing. They are still in charge of municipal funds, how does it feel."

@sydneyntantiso stated:

"ActionSA needs to understand that if you take a shot, make sure you don't miss."

@Kgabo48649279 commented:

"ActionSA they just removed AIC mayor and install ANC mayor "

@AlanNaidoo3 reflected:

"I’ve called it weeks ago that MMC for finance will remain with EFF. ANC and EFF are birds of a feather."

Former eThekwini mayor announced as ABC KZN premier candidate

Briefly News said the Abantu Batho Congress (ABC) has announced Philani Mavundla, former mayor of eThekwini and current mayor of Umvoti Municipality, as its premier candidate.

Read also

Rise Mzansi Songezo Zibi labels the DA’s leadership as divisive and racialised

This came as many political parties presented their provincial candidates and manifestos ahead of the elections on 29 May 2024.

Speaking to Briefly News, Mavundla said the decision was part of plans to address the region's challenges.

Source: Briefly News

Online view pixel