Ex PSL Ref Claims Kaizer Chiefs Were Robbed of a Clear Penalty Against SuperSport

Ex PSL Ref Claims Kaizer Chiefs Were Robbed of a Clear Penalty Against SuperSport

  • Kaizer Chiefs suffered their second defeat of the season in the Betway Premiership under Nasreddine against SuperSport United over the weekend
  • A South African referee has confirmed that the Soweto giants were robbed of a clean penalty in the opening half of the match
  • The match between the Glamour Boys and Matsatsantsa could have taken another direction if they were awarded the spot-kick when the scoreline was still goalless

A former referee in the Premier Soccer League has claimed that Kaizer Chiefs were robbed of a clear penalty during their clash with SuperSport United in the Betway Premiership on Saturday, October 26, 2024.

The Glamour Boys lost the tie 1-0 at the Peter Mokaba Stadium, courtesy of a first-half goal from Tashreeq Morris.

It was Amakhosi's second defeat in the league this season after losing at home to Mamelodi Sundowns a few weeks ago.

Read also

Orlando Pirates maintain their perfect start to the season

Victor Hlungwani claims Kaizer Chiefs were robbed of a clear penalty during their tie against SuperSport United in the PSL.
Former Premier Soccer League referee Victor Hlungwani claims Kaizer Chiefs were denied a clear penalty during their 1-0 loss to SuperSport United in the Betway Premiership. Photo: @KaizerChiefs.
Source: Twitter

Ex-PSL ref gives verdict on Kaizer Chiefs penalty claim

In an interview on SABC Sport's Soccerzone, as per iDiskiTimes, former PSL referee Victor Hlungwani asserted that Kaizer Chiefs should have been awarded a penalty in their defeat against SuperSport.

In the first half, Kaizer Chiefs midfielder Edson Castillo was fouled in the box by Bilal Baloyi, but the Soweto giants were not given a penalty despite the Venezuelan international being unable to continue the game after the tackle.

"The law says kicking an opponent is a foul," the former South African referee said.
"The ball goes in the penalty area, a 50-50 and then who kicked who? Here, you can see that Castillo got the ball, and Baloyi kicked an opponent.
"So, kicking an opponent in the penalty area, a penalty should've been awarded. It was not given, unfortunately."

Read also

Football clubs are growing tired of bad referee calls in Mzansi

Nabi's Kaizer Chiefs suffers huge blow

Briefly News also reported that Nasreddine Nabi has suffered a huge blow ahead of Kaizer Chiefs' upcoming matches against Magesi and Mamelodi Sundowns.

The Soweto giants will face Magesi in their next fixture in the Betway Premiership, while their second tie against Masandawana will be in the Carling Knockout.

PAY ATTENTION: Сheck out news that is picked exactly for YOU - click on “Recommended for you” and enjoy!

Source: Briefly News

Authors:
Raphael Abiola avatar

Raphael Abiola (sports editor) Raphael Abiola is a Nigerian Sports Journalist with over seven years of experience. He obtained a B.Tech degree in Computer Science from the Federal University of Technology, Akure, in 2015. Raphael previously worked as a football editor at Stakegains (2016-2018) and a content editor with Opera News Nigeria (2018-2023). Raphael then worked as an Editor for the Local Desk at Sports Brief (2023-2024). Reach him via email at raphael.abiola@sportsbrief.com.