Mpumalanga's Refilwe Mtsweni-Tsipane Elected NCOP Chair: Promises Constitutional Commitment

Mpumalanga's Refilwe Mtsweni-Tsipane Elected NCOP Chair: Promises Constitutional Commitment

  • Mpumalanga residents applauded the newly elected Chairperson of the NCOP, Refilwe Mtsweni-Tsipane
  • The former Premier is one of 54 delegates sworn into the NCOP by Chief Justice Raymond Zondo on 15 June 2024
  • After accepting her nomination, Mtsweni-Tsipane assured the house that she would execute her obligations by the constitution

Zingisa Chirwa is an experienced Briefly News journalist based in Johannesburg, South Africa, who has covered Mpumalanga politics and current affairs on the radio for over 15 years.

Scores of Mpumalanga residents congratulated the province’s former Premier for being elected as the National Council of Provinces’ Chairperson.
Netizens applaud Mpumalanga's ex-Premier after being elected the NCOP's Chairperson. Images: Facebook/Refilwe Mtsweni-Tsipane and Getty Images/Stock Image
Source: UGC

Scores of Mpumalanga residents have congratulated the Province’s former Premier for being elected as the National Council of Provinces’ Chairperson.

Ex-Mpumalanga Premier accepts NCOP chair nomination

Refilwe Mtsweni-Tsipane was one of 54 NCOP delegates sworn in by Chief Justice Raymond Zondo during the house’s first sitting of the seventh administration on 15 June 2024.

Read also

MK Party ends boycott, joins Progressive Caucus in National Assembly

When accepting her nomination, Mtsweni-Tsipane said she was honoured to be chosen for the role:

“I would like to give my assurance that I will execute my obligations in accordance with the provision of our constitution and to the very best of my ability.”

According to SABC News, Northern Cape ANC member Kenneth Mmoiemang was elected Chief Whip.

Mpumalanga residents clap for former Premier

Residents across Mpumalanga visited Facebook to wish the Province’s former number one well in her new position.

Maya Shakes said:

“Congratulations our formal mother of Mpumalanga province.”

Mduduzi C. Manana added:

“Congratulations Honourable Chairperson of the Upper House of the Parliament of the Republic of South Africa, the NCOP, Ms Refilwe Mtsweni-Tsipane.”

Tboy MP exclaimed:

“Congratulations and All the best!”

Mncedisi Johannes Ngozo commented:

“Congratulations chairperson. Kulate akusetshenzwe leader.”

Moss Phele said:

Read also

Investigating Directorate rejects reports of Gwede Mantashe's impending arrest

“Congratulations to your leadership. We wish you well in your new responsibility. Please represent us very well as always”

ANC-DA agreement is primarily economic, not political

Briefly News reported that a political analyst believed the agreement between the ANC and the DA was a business agreement and not political.

Gakwi Mashego was reacting to the two organisations entering a framework agreement that saw them secure three key positions.

Mashego said the pact between the two political parties would focus on rebuilding the economy as envisioned by their funders.

PAY ATTENTION: Сheck out news that is picked exactly for YOU - click on “Recommended for you” and enjoy!

Source: Briefly News

Zingisa Chirwa avatar

Zingisa Chirwa (Editor) Zingisa Chirwa is an experienced broadcast journalist who has worked predominantly in radio newsrooms for over 15 years. Chirwa has occupied numerous positions, including news journalist, editor and current affairs host, focusing mainly on Mpumalanga politics and business. You can reach Zingisa at